How to Cancel Spotify Premium

December 29, 2021

Spotify is one of the most popular music streaming services in the world. The platform is available on many devices such as smartphones, laptops, computers, or tablets. If you use Spotify Premium, but want to stop, you can easily cancel your Spotify Premium subscription. It only takes a few clicks. Learn how to unsubscribe from Spotify!

How to cancel Spotify Premium

Despite the many benefits offered by Spotify Premium, such as offline listening mode or unlimited access to a huge song library, some may decide to cancel their Spotify Premium subscription. Reasons can be various, for example, you no longer listen to music regularly, or want to try other music services. The subscription canceling procedure is easy! All you need to do is to follow the steps below.

And if you want to keep your playlists, you can transfer always them to another service or to a file (back up) with FreeYourMusic.

How to cancel Spotify Premium on PC, Mac, and Android

Spotify Premium isn't hard to cancel, but it's also not such an obvious process. You can't interact with your account settings within the app. However, it’s possible to cancel Spotify Premium subscription on the Spotify Website through any mobile or desktop browser.

1. Go to Spotify in your browser and log in.

Przechwytywanie.JPG

2. Click “Profile” at the top right.

3. Then find the Account button, and go to Subscription.

1.JPG

2.JPG

4. Click Change or Cancel, and then Cancel Premium.

3.JPG

5. Confirm your cancellation by clicking Yes, cancel.

After cancellation, you’ll be able to enjoy Spotify Premium benefits until the end of your current subscription period. Once you cancel, your account won’t be deleted, it’ll switch to Spotify free. Remember, that this version has a limited amount of song skips, and runs advertisements. However, Spotify Free still gives you access to your account and music library.

How to cancel Spotify Premium on iPhone or iPad

If you subscribed to Spotify Premium through the App Store using your iPhone or iPad, you’ll need to cancel the subscription on your device. That’s because Apple handles subscriptions through in-app purchases. This is what to do.

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Choose iTunes and App Store.
  3. Tap on your Apple ID.
  4. Enter your Apple ID Password or use Touch / Face ID.
  5. Tap “Subscriptions”.
  6. Find Spotify subscription.
  7. Tap “Cancel subscription”.
  8. Then tap “Confirm” to unsubscribe.

4.JPG

As with any other cancellation from the App Store, your Premium will extend until the next renewal date. Once again, you’ll retain access to your music library, but as a Spotify Free user. Do you use Apple Music instead of Spotify, and do you want to learn how to cancel Apple Music Subscription? Don’t worry, we already covered that topic!

Things to know about Spotify Premium subscription

Spotify offers the following subscription plans:

  • Spotify Premium for 1 person costs $9.99 / month

  • Spotify Premium Duo (for 2 people) costs $12.99 / month

  • Spotify Premium Family (Up to 6 people) costs $15.99 / month

  • Spotify Premium Student costs $4.99 / month.

All Premium subscriptions are monthly subscriptions, and you can cancel them any time with a few clicks, free of charge. Learn more about Spotify Free vs Spotify Premium.

What happens if you don’t pay for Spotify

When you don't pay for Spotify, the Premium automatically changes to Spotify Free plan at the end of the last paid month.

How to delete Spotify account

Once you cancel the Premium subscription, and you don’t want to maintain your Spotify account, it’s possible to permanently delete it. To do it, follow these steps:

  1. Log into your Spotify account.
  2. At the bottom of the page, click "About".
  3. In the "Customer support" section, select "Contact form".
  4. Click "Account" then "Close my account permanently".
  5. Confirm the deletion of your account.
  6. Your account will therefore be completely deleted from the Spotify platform.

Remember, that you can always renew your subscription, but it’s not possible to reactivate a closed account!

FreeYourMusic - transfer your playlists and never lose them!

If you decide to cancel your Spotify Premium subscription, it will change to a Free plan which provides you access to all your playlists, and saved music. However, when you delete your account, you will lose all your playlists! How to prevent that? With FreeYourMusic you can transfer your playlists to another service or to a file (backup). The process is quick and simple, and you'll be able to listen to your playlists on other streaming platforms, even if you delete your Spotify account.

Migrate from and to any music services
Try it for free now